The Man Behind the Selfie

I attend a residential arts high school and it was as crazy as you would think. Everyday was a constant rendition of High School Musical, students singing, acting, and dancing their way to class. One of the most important questions asked to me was “Who are you as an artist?”. How am I supposed to know who I am as an artist, if I don’t even know who I am in general.

Bloggers are artists too. Right now as I am typing away on this keyboard I am weaving together words and sentences and forming a piece of art of my own. Each keystroke personalizes the artwork to my own voice. I realized as I typed that “piece of art” sounds pretty darn pretentious, this piece of art is probably equivalent of a middle school art project. Even though this isn’t high art material, it is certainly progressing to be better art with each new post I publish.

William Zinsser’s On Writing Well has a whole chapter dedicated to finding your own voice. Your voice in a blog is equivalent to the colors you chose in a painting. Two bloggers may have the same topic to blog about, but you aren’t going to get the same result. For instance I am a relatively happy and funny guy, but with a touch of cynicism. My view or voice in my blog is like my digital fingerprint, being unique and can’t be replicated.

olkLg18

But for real though who am I as an artist? A more apropo question would be is “Why do we blog?”. I bet when clicking on this post you didn’t think I would get all philosophical, that is a pretty big plot twist for The Chad Fad. I think the answer to is to be heard and to feel like we are a part of something bigger. All these sentiments relate back to my other post on electracy. We, as internet users, flock the internet to be entertained and informed, but that can only be done by other artists contributing to the mosaic known as the interwebs. I am going to continue to write and learn with my blogs to better understand myself as an artist as well who I am as a person. With this pursuit one day I will hopefully find out who the guy is behind the blog.


Leave a comment